First Blog

·

2 min read

So here I am writing my first blog post ever. Wishing I started it sooner, but here we are.

About me and my journey so far;

Currently I am a Plumber, not a bad gig, but the knees and back say otherwise. Let's throw my nose in there as well. I've been interested in programming for a year this March. I started off with Python, which I absolutely loved. I started with reading Automate the Boring Stuff by Al Sweigart. I can't recommend it enough. Along with Python Crash Course. Both amazing books that helped out greatly.

After reading some books, and getting involved in Coursera courses, it dawned on me that I couldn't make sense of what I "learned" unless my hand was held while coding. Aka TUTORIAL HELL.

I needed to escape! What better way is there than to throw yourself into projects and have to come up with everything on your own, then once stuck, consult the coding bible (StackOverflow).

I started to learn a lot more this way. I went from automation, scripts, then dove deep into data science and analytics. I loved making plots and graphs.

Here's some of my examples:

Graphs from my project that dove into accidents around my city;

Screen Shot 2022-03-02 at 8.36.08 PM.png

Screen Shot 2022-03-02 at 8.36.08 PM.png

Graphs from my project that dove into what counties with CWD (Chronic Waste Disease) in deer;

Screen Shot 2022-03-02 at 8.43.46 PM.png

Screen Shot 2022-03-02 at 8.43.46 PM.png

and one of my favorite ones;

Graphs from my project about the Detroit Red Wings W-L-OTL over the course of their history, along with their Goals-For and Goals-Against, and the correlation between that and their W-L history;

Screen Shot 2022-03-02 at 8.52.34 PM.png

Screen Shot 2022-03-02 at 8.52.41 PM.png

After diving into data science and analytics, I tried out web-scraping. It was perfect timing. As I was web-scraping and getting into HTML and learning how to read it and make sense of it. I came across a Reddit thread from Leon Noel, who interested me greatly, and heavily into Full Stack Development.

I thought I loved Python a lot, but this, this was different.

I love the creativity I can visually produce. I love the people that Leon has introduced me too. The nicest people with such positivity. It's a wonderful community.

I'm currently working on my freelance career. Which I am absolutely excited for. I'm excited to put my name out there, to network, to make more money.

I'm excited for what my future has in store.